
CTET Eligibility 2026: Paper 1 and Paper 2 Qualification Rules
CTET Eligibility 2026: Paper 1 and Paper 2 Qualification Rules
Most CTET eligibility confusion comes from one habit: reading a list on some website and assuming it is the final word. It is not. The CTET September 2026 Information Bulletin does not print its own qualification list. It points you to the National Council for Teacher Education (NCTE) and tells you to check there.
This guide does two things. First, it tells you exactly what the bulletin says. Second, it shows the qualification options that are commonly listed from NCTE norms for Paper 1 and Paper 2, clearly marked, so you know which part to confirm on ncte.gov.in. If you only want the big picture of the exam, start with our CTET complete guide.
What the official bulletin actually says about eligibility
Section 6 of the CTET September 2026 Information Bulletin is short. Here is its substance in plain words, without additions:
- NCTE decides the qualifications. The minimum qualifications are the ones notified by NCTE under its regulations on minimum qualifications for teachers (as amended), along with the recruitment rules of the appropriate government, KVS or NVS.
- Check ncte.gov.in yourself. The bulletin directs candidates to the NCTE website for the current rules.
- You are responsible. The candidate must make sure they meet the conditions. CBSE does not check your degree before letting you sit the exam.
- Admission is not verification. Being allowed to appear, or even getting a pass certificate, does not mean your eligibility has been verified. The recruiting agency does the final verification when you apply for a job.
- 5% relaxation. An NCTE note allows relaxation of up to 5% in the qualifying marks of the minimum educational qualification for SC, ST, OBC and Differently-abled candidates.
That last point about verification matters more than people think. A candidate can clear CTET with a good score and still be rejected at a KVS or state interview because the D.El.Ed or B.Ed does not match the post. Check first, apply second.
Paper 1 eligibility (Classes 1 to 5)
Paper 1 is for people who want to teach at the primary stage. The table below shows the options as commonly listed from NCTE norms; confirm on ncte.gov.in before you rely on any row. For what the paper contains, see our CTET Paper 1 guide.
Notice what is missing: B.Ed. Many older lists still show a B.Ed route for Paper 1. That route is the subject of the Supreme Court ruling explained further down, so do not treat it as settled in your favour.
Paper 2 eligibility (Classes 6 to 8)
Paper 2 is for the upper primary (elementary) stage. Again, these rows are as commonly listed from NCTE norms; confirm on ncte.gov.in. Our CTET Paper 2 guide covers the subjects and the Maths/Science versus Social Studies choice.
The phrase "1-year B.Ed" comes from the older wording of these norms. Today the B.Ed course is usually two years long, but the list is often reproduced as written. If your degree is a 2-year B.Ed, read the current NCTE text rather than guessing.
D.El.Ed vs B.Ed: which paper does each fit?
This is the question we get most often, so here it is in one table.
The logic is simple. D.El.Ed trains you for young children, so it lines up with the primary stage. B.Ed trains you for older students, so it lines up with Classes 6 to 8 and above.
Is B.Ed eligible for CTET Paper 1? The Supreme Court position
In August 2023, the Supreme Court, in Devesh Sharma v. Union of India, quashed the NCTE notification of 2018 that had allowed B.Ed holders to be appointed as primary teachers (Classes 1 to 5). The court's view was that D.El.Ed is the relevant qualification for the primary level.
What does that mean for you in practice?
- If you hold only a B.Ed and your goal is a primary teacher job, do not build your plan on Paper 1.
- Some websites still list B.Ed under Paper 1 because they have not updated since 2023. Ignore those lists.
- Check the current NCTE position on ncte.gov.in and read the eligibility clause of the specific recruitment notice you are targeting.
- Paper 2 remains the natural route for B.Ed holders.
Our honest view: a B.Ed candidate who takes Paper 1 "just in case" is spending time that would be better used on a strong Paper 2 score. Unless a recruitment notice you care about clearly accepts your profile, focus on Paper 2.
Can final-year or appearing candidates apply?
Yes. Candidates who are appearing in the final year of the relevant course (D.El.Ed, B.Ed, B.El.Ed and so on) can take CTET. You do not need to wait for your final result.
There is one catch. When a school or recruiting body hires, it will want the completed qualification. So a CTET pass while you are in the final year is useful, but you still need to finish the course with the required marks before you are appointed. Keep your mark sheets and course documents in order.
CTET age limit
The CTET September 2026 Information Bulletin does not state any age limit, neither a minimum nor a maximum.
Aggregator sources (not the bulletin) commonly say the minimum age is 17 years and that there is no upper age limit. Treat that as general guidance only. In real life, the age question matters at the recruitment stage: KVS, NVS and state recruitment notices set their own age limits and relaxations. CTET itself does not stop you on age.
The 5% relaxation: what it really means
This is widely misunderstood. The NCTE note gives relaxation of up to 5% in the qualifying marks of the minimum educational qualification for SC, ST, OBC and Differently-abled candidates.
In simple terms, it applies to your 12th or graduation percentage, not to your CTET score. So where a row asks for 50% in graduation, a reserved-category candidate may qualify with up to 5 percentage points less, that is 45%.
Your CTET pass mark is a separate matter. The bulletin (section 9) says a score of 60% or more (90 out of 150) is a TET pass, and school managements may consider concessions for reserved categories as per their own reservation policy. The bulletin does not fix a separate CTET figure for reserved categories, so check the rule of the employer you are applying to.
Can you take both Paper 1 and Paper 2?
Yes. The bulletin says that if you want to teach both levels (Classes 1 to 5 and Classes 6 to 8), you must appear in both papers. The fee is higher for both: General/OBC (NCL) pay Rs 1000 for one paper and Rs 1200 for both; SC/ST/Differently abled pay Rs 500 and Rs 600. GST is extra and the fee is non-refundable.
Taking both only makes sense if you are eligible for both. A candidate with 12th at 55%, a BA and a D.El.Ed, for example, fits Paper 1 option (a) and Paper 2 option (a). A candidate with only a B.Ed does not gain much from Paper 1, as explained above.
How many attempts are allowed?
There is no limit on the number of attempts. You can appear as many times as you want. Even a candidate who has already qualified may appear again to improve the score, and schools are advised to give weightage to CTET scores during hiring. The certificate itself is valid for life for appointment purposes; our CTET certificate validity article explains the details and the DigiLocker certificate.
Scenario table: where do you stand?
These are illustrative cases based on the commonly listed NCTE options above. They are not a legal opinion. Confirm on ncte.gov.in and in the recruitment notice.
Where does CTET eligibility actually help?
CTET applies to Central Government schools such as KVS, NVS and Central Tibetan Schools, and to schools under the UTs of Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep and NCT of Delhi. Unaided private schools may also consider it. State government schools usually consider the state TET (for example JTET, Bihar STET or UPTET), though a state that does not hold its own TET can consider CTET.
For CBSE-affiliated schools, teachers appointed for Classes 1 to 8 after 6 March 2012 must have passed CTET or the appropriate TET. Remember too: passing CTET does not give you a right to a job. It is one eligibility condition among several.
What to do next
- Match your 12th, graduation and professional course against the two tables above.
- Open ncte.gov.in and confirm the current wording, especially if you are a B.Ed holder thinking about Paper 1.
- Keep your mark sheets, category certificate and course documents ready for later verification.
- Use the extra time before 12 and 13 December 2026 well. If you are a Paper 1 candidate, the free CTET Paper 1 study material has topic-wise notes on CDP, Maths, EVS and language pedagogy; one topic a day is a sensible pace.
FAQs
What is the CTET eligibility for 2026?
The CTET September 2026 Information Bulletin says the minimum qualifications are those notified by NCTE and asks candidates to check ncte.gov.in. Commonly listed options include 12th with 50% plus D.El.Ed for Paper 1, and graduation with 50% plus B.Ed for Paper 2.
Is B.Ed eligible for CTET Paper 1?
Be careful. In August 2023 the Supreme Court (Devesh Sharma v. Union of India) quashed the 2018 NCTE notification that allowed B.Ed holders for primary posts. B.Ed-only candidates should not rely on Paper 1 for primary jobs and should check the NCTE position and the recruitment notice.
What is the CTET age limit?
The bulletin does not state any age limit. Aggregator sources say the minimum is 17 years with no upper limit, but that is not in the bulletin. Job age limits are set by each recruiting body.
Can final-year D.El.Ed or B.Ed students apply?
Yes. Candidates appearing in the final year of the relevant course can take CTET. You must complete the course before appointment.
Does the 5% relaxation reduce the CTET pass mark?
No. The NCTE 5% relaxation is on the marks of your qualifying exam, such as 12th or graduation. The CTET pass mark is 60% (90 out of 150); any concession on that is decided by the employer.
How many times can I take CTET?
There is no limit on attempts. Qualified candidates can also reappear to improve their score.
Does CBSE verify my eligibility before the exam?
No. The bulletin says being allowed to appear does not mean your eligibility is verified. The recruiting agency does the final verification, so the responsibility is yours.
